Bean’s Menu…

… so… followers of my page on Facebook will know that I like to cook – I don’t profess to be a good cook – but I enjoy blending flavours and textures, and I love trying to get back to my local, seasonal roots.

It’s very important to me to include Bean in this process – I want her to know that the basics, to understand what is better for her, and the planet… to have a solid grounding in cooking, and now – gardening.

Again, we’re not professional gardeners… we just like getting dirty fingernails… :-)

Anyhoo… in my arsenal of well-thumbed cookbooks – I now have a few children’s cookbooks and a couple of boxes of cooking cards (you know the ones, they’re in boxes, with dividers). We’ve often divided the menu planning between the 3 of us – but since The Balding One *always* chooses “Mince and tatties” I’ve started veto’ing his vote.

This week, I let Bean chose the entire menu. She chose some interesting breakfast items that we’ll save for the weekend (for the sake of time)…

… and for suppers, she chose:

Chicken stew in bread bowls
Shrimp and Pineapple kebabs
Shrimp stirfry in a bowl
Butternut squash soup
Banana wraps
… and her favourite spinach salad.

I am crazy proud of this kid.
There were recipe cards for mac’n’cheese, hotdogs, etc etc… but I think that she chose really good choices. So proud.

… so she and TBO had the banana wraps last night as a snack after Blastball … and they loved them!!!

I’d recently tried our first non-peanut nut butter – Almond. And it was NOT well received. Too dry and “Bleugh-face” inducing.
I kept the jar festering in the back of the fridge, hoping to find something that would use it.

TAH-DAH!!!

So… recipe called for melting some chocolate chips into the almond butter, spreading the goo onto a wrap (wholewheat) and then rolling up a banana inside of it.

… I then left it in the fridge to firm up, and then brought them with us to Blastball in Bean’s lunchbag with a icepack inside (was muggy last night).

Score!

… Bean took one for lunch today :-) with an apple, strawberries, blueberries, and a yoghurt.

Tonight? We’re going to try the chicken stew in bowls.

:-)

Perhaps for dessert we’ll try these:

http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2012/08/27/chocolate-chip-peanut-butter-balls/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 483 other followers

