Drawing to a close…

… is Summer.
(I’m not calling off Summer until we’re back from Disney)

Soon, the hot ‘n’ rainy days and nights will make way for crisper mornings and falling leaves.
The kids and teachers are back at school, I feel that it’s a time to renew and reinvigorate some routines in our lives. A time of opportunity and renewal… and… I realise thatย I’ve fallen out of some of the plans that I had for this Summer.
Where did my Summer go?

Hooping – failed. FAIL. I was so excited to try this. Something that Bean and I could do in the afternoons when we returned home from the Y. Turns out – I can’t do it. I can’t hula-hoop! Seriously. I can’t. There are no words for how inept I feel at failing to hula-hoop.

Preserving food – I REALLY wanted this to be the Summer I properly prepare for Winter. I’ve not managed a DANG thing. There’s no jars of peaches, trays of berries, pouches of apple crisps, containers of sauces waiting for meat or tofu. Being caught in THE storm this Summer and being without power for almost 4 days? We lost a lot of the flash frozen food from the freezer. Granted – nothing expensive, but still … annoying.

Cycling – I had great ideas of cycling more – but husband’s bike of 8 years has finally died, and the wee lass hasn’t yet mastered 2 wheels.

Meal planning –ย I’ve fallen out of the routine of meal planning.ย Sunday mornings, after breakfast, was when I would normally sit down and mentally go through my freezers and pantry and decide what we’d be eating for breakfast, lunch, and supper; drawing up a list of ingredients I need to buy… and then going shopping. I did draw up a plan this Sunday, and it felt good to feel organised once again. But we’ve also started attending a congregation, and now my Sunday mornings are “QUICK!!! We’re going to be late!!!” … and we’re not home until the afternoon.

…. but what have I managed this Summer? Anything? We managed plenty! ๐Ÿ˜€

– I’m now a yoghurt, greek yoghurt, yoghurt cheese making MACHINE! .. next stop – ‘proper’ cheese

– I learned that to weave an item with handspun – you need to overspin and not spin for loft and squishness … next stop – MOAR WEAVING!
– I made some beautiful yarn plyed with shiny gold thread – next stop – MOAR SPINNING!
– I found my knitting mojo again and have ALMOST completed a cardigan for the wee lass – next stop – who am I kidding, I have a permanent backlog of knitting.
– I learned how to make sausages – FINALLY ๐Ÿ™‚ next stop – THE WORLD!!!!!
– We went camping – and despite rough conditions, we had some fun and made some new memories and relived old memories; and more importantly, we made it into the States and to a State Park – which rounded off our camping season nicely.
– Some new friendships were created ๐Ÿ˜€
– I booked our vacation to DISNEY! and I paid it off; I renewed our passports, and DD’s, and our PR cards are in the process of renewal – FILL OUT ALL THE PAPERS!!!!! (I learned that CIC can make rules when they want and try to screw with you, but then they can also process and mail out a Canadian passport within 7 business days, while PR card renewals languish on a virtual shelf somewhere while workers strike)
– we also started taking steps to end our fertility problems
– can I say that I started running? I’m into the second week of a Coach 2 5K program – with Zombies, of course.
– and the kidlet is signed up for swimming (ongoing now we’re at the YMCA), gymnastics, and GIrl Guides (Sparks).

So, what next?
Well – DisneyVacationExtravaganza!!!!

… but what then?

Well… Seeing as weekends SHOULD start to be quieter – I really am hoping to get back to a good, healthy, routine at home with food prep and meal planning. And I’m looking forward to spending more time with fluff; blending it, spinning it, dying it… ๐Ÿ™‚ … and I have a hankering to make another rag quilt ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ … but I really should finish the blankets and quilts I started knitting/crocheting ๐Ÿ˜‰

… and then I’ll have a birthday (BOO!!!) … and Christmas will just be the three of us this year… (DOUBLEBOO!!!) …

But I’m looking forward to calm, and routine, and chilling out – mainly.

 

๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

