Down to the wire…

 

… I can’t believe it. 

It’s almost crunch time. 
For years I’ve dreamed of this. Being at Walt Disney World. Yah… I bet you didn’t know that about me, eh? 

Growing up in a tiny hamlet in Scotland, I used to get goosebumps watching the movies on TV. It was the early 80’s, we had 3 channels, and movies took YEARS to go from cinema to the small screen. When that GONG clashed for Rank, the lion ROARED for MGM, when that castle appeared for Disney; we knew it was time to sit down, and shut the hell up. 

Disney meant Winnie the Pooh, 101 Dalmatians, Alice in Wonderland, Fantasia, Cinderella, Jungle Book, The Black Cauldron – worlds of fantasy that became childhood cocoons of cosy memories, a safe place to be.
(But not Dumbo, or The Rescuers – no.)

… and then to learn, as a kid, that there’s a Disney WORLD? 

O________O

And it’s in America?!?!?!

It seemed so far away and foreign. The place of movies and sunshine… WOW. (PLEASE REMEMBER, I WAS A KID – opinions held a a child do not reflect the opinions of the adult)

As a university student and beyond, the love of Disney stayed with me (albeit slightly repressed for not being “cool”) … and I would take myself to the cinema every festive season to see the latest Disney movie. I feel in love with Belle, Pochahontas, Mulan… I cringed when Frollo sniffed Esmeralda’s hair, I laughed and snorted at “… and DADDY!!! They took my SHOE!!!!”. 
I was never drawn to Mickey Mouse, or Donald Duck, Goofy, or Pluto. It was the “big” movies that captivated me. That transported me into a land where there are ALWAY happy endings… that things can be scary without being gory… where good prevails… and then I regress further – back to those cosy weekend afternoons watching TV with my family. We’d be silently engrossed, regardless if it was the 1st or 31st time we’d seen it. 

… and here I am… 12 days… or 13 sleeps… less than 2 weeks until we’re on our way. 

The tiny B-F Clan are going to Disney. 
… and I’m nervous. I’m excited. But I’m also nervous. I’m excited!!!! I’ve teared up (and perhaps had a wee cry) more times than I’d care to admit – I cannot believe that we’re going… we’re going, and Bean will be there, and she will see it too.

BUT!
What if it isn’t what I expect? 
What if Bean’s reaction is more “meh” than “OMG!!!!!!!!!”?

So I’m nervous. 
BUT I’M EXCITED!!!!!!!!!
… but I’m nervous… 
… and I’m trying to play it cool. Like, this isn’t one of the largest things that will have happened to me/us as a family … it’s a dream older than the dream of emigrating or having a kid… it’s big. 

BUT I’M EXCITED. 

… and nervous. 

… and I’m SO getting my photo taken with Gaston. 

🙂 

 

Leave a Reply

